History, Meaning and Importance of Navratri

Last updated on April 13th, 2022

Rate this post

Navrati is viewed as one of the most promising seasons. There is a party in the air during these nine days and the event is praised with intensity Navrati is viewed together of the foremost promising seasons. there’s a celebration within the air during these nine days and therefore the event is praised with intensity during the country. The sanctuaries are improved wonderfully and lovers start preparing for the celebration days before time. Strangely, the celebration features a significant and wonderful history.

The word Navratri is derived from the Sanskrit word which is translated as “nava” as nine and “ratri” at night. Each day is dedicated to one of the nine avatars of Durga (which are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri) and each day has an associated chromatic meaning.

The celebration tells the triumph of good over evil. Goddess Durga is accepted to have battled with the evil spirit Mahishasur (addressing self-centeredness) for nine days, and on the last day, when the devil was guillotined by her, she is called Vijay Dashmi.

Navratri falls four times each year. Notwithstanding, those saw during September-October (called Sharad) and March-April (Vasanta) are viewed as the most favorable and are broadly celebrated all through the country.

The celebration is known by various names in various pieces of the nation and the customs and customs likewise contrast from one state to another. The celebration of navratri is commended as Durga Puja in different pieces of upper east India. Yet again in the north and west of the country, devotees celebrate the festival by fasting, staging a play “Ramila” and finishing with Dussehra where the sculptures of Ravana and his siblings are scorched, and that implies the triumph of good. regarding evil. It is praised as Golu in Tamil Nadu and Gujarat are renowned for their dandiya evenings.

Here are the names of nine devi’s with it’s meaning

Day 1 – Shailputri

Known as Pratipada (the first day), this day is associated with Shailaputri (“daughter of the mountain”), the pKnown as Pratipada (the first day), today is related to Shailaputri (“daughter of the mountain”), the personification of Parvati. Durga is worshiped as Shiva’s wife; She is depicted riding a bull, Nandi, with a trishula in her right and a lotus in her left. Shailaputri is appraised to be the direct incarnation of Mahakali. the colour of the day is gray, representing movement and vitality. She is additionally considered a reincarnation of Sati and is additionally referred to as Hemavati.

Day 2 – Brahmacharini

On Dwitiya (the 2nd day), the goddess Brahmacharini, another incarnation of Parvati, is worshiped. during this way, Parvati became Eugenie, her single self. Brahmacharini is worshiped for liberation or moksha and therefore the gift of peace and prosperity. Represented as walking barefoot and holding a japamala (rosary) and kamandala (bowl) in her hands, she symbolizes happiness and tranquility. Blue is that the code for today . Sometimes orange is employed to represent calm, but strong energy flows everywhere.

Day 3 – Chandraghanta

Tritia (third day) commemorates the cult of Chandraghanta; the name derives from the very fact that after marrying Shiva, Parvati adorned her forehead with Ardachandra (illuminated by a crescent moon). She is that the embodiment of beauty and also symbolizes courage. White is that the color of the third day, it’s a vivid color and may stimulate everyone’s mood.

Day 4 – Kushmanda

The goddess Kushmanda is worshiped at Chaturthi (fourth day). Kushmanda is believed to be the creative force of the universe, she is said to the vegetation of plants on Earth, therefore the colour of the day is red. She is represented with eight arms and sitting on a tiger.

Day 5 – Skandamata

Skandamata, the goddess worshiped on Panchami (the fifth day), is that the mother of Skanda (or Kartickeya). the colour purplish blue symbolizes the changing strength of a mother when her son faces danger. She is represented riding a ferocious lion, with four arms and carrying her son.

Day 6 – Katyayani

Born of the sage Katyayana, she is that the incarnation of Durga and shows his bravery, symbolized by the colour yellow. referred to as a warrior goddess, she is taken into account one among the foremost violent sorts of Devi. during this avatar, Katyaani rides a lion and has four hands. She is an incarnation of Parvati, Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati. She is widely known on Shashtami (6th day).

Day 7 – Kaalratri

Kalaratri is considered the fiercest form of the goddess Durga and is worshiped in Kalaratri is taken into account the fiercest sort of the goddess Durga and is worshiped in Saptami. it’s believed that Parvati took off her fair skin to kill the demons Sumbha and Nisomba. the colour of the day is green. The gods appear with red clothes or tiger skin with tons of anger in their eyes of fireside , their skin turns black. the colour red represents prayer and assures the devotees that the gods will protect them from harm. Celebrated in Saptami (seventh day)

Day 8 – MahaGauri

Mahajauri represents insight and harmony. it’s accepted that when Calaratri washed within the Ganges, she clothed to be exceptionally blonde on account of her dim appearance. The tone related with today is that the green peacock which addresses straightness . it’s commended in Ashtam.

Day 9 – Sidhidatree

On the Judgment Day of the celebration, otherwise called Navami (the 10th day), individuals petition Siddhatri. Sitting on a lotus, she is accepted to possess and provides a good range of siddhis. Here she has four hands. Daytime purple, otherwise called Mahalakshmi, is understood for respecting the excellence of nature. Siddhattri is Parvati, the spouse of Lord Shiva. Siddhidhatri is additionally perceived because the Ardhanarishvara sort of Shiva and Shakti. One side of Lord Shiva’s body is accepted to be that of the goddess Siddhattri. She is otherwise called Ardhanarishwara.

Let us cherish these nine nights of latest beginnings and divinity as Maa Durga reaches our hearts and houses.

Happy Navratri!

Also read : Guru Purnima: Importance, tradition, food and culture